The Green Carnation Prize 2016… Call For Entries

For the third year, The Green Carnation Prize, an award which recognises lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) writers working in any form, will work in close assocation with Foyles bookshop.

The partnership will see the ‘world-famous bookseller’ support and promote the shortlisted books and winning title in stores and online, as well as host the award ceremony at the flagship store in Spring 2017.

Now, in its seventh year, the Prize is open for entries and welcomes Maura Brickell, Director of Maura PR & Communications, to the board working alongside Prize Director, Simon Savidge, as they look to cement the award as a vital recognition for books as diverse as the community it represents and unified by a common thread: sheer quality of writing.

Simon Heafield, Head of Marketing at Foyles said: “Foyles bookshops are places where readers can encounter a diverse range of stories and we are proud to be working with the The Green Carnation Prize to continue our support of its vital work in showcasing the wealth of writing talent in the LGBT community, and helping these voices to reach the widest audience possible. Recent events have shown that those who support an equal and diverse society cannot afford an ounce of complacency, and I’m proud that in working with the Green Carnation Prize we are able to uphold these ideals, which we hold dear.”

Prize Chair Simon Savidge said: “I am delighted that The Green Carnation Prize is returning, after a small break to catch its breath, for its seventh year both in partnership once more with Foyles and with Maura Brickell joining me at the helm. It seems in uncertain times that diverse voices from all over the world need to be heard just as much as ever before, sharing experiences and opening people’s minds. I am delighted to be continuing the wonderful partnership with Foyles and getting these voices in the hands of the public through the power of the written word and books.”

Following 2015’s highest number of submissions to date, the Prize was awarded to Marlon James’ A Brief History of Seven Killings. Upon winning the prize, James said: “Six years ago I wouldn’t have been able to voice that I was LGBT, so to be recognised for that and for work the judges felt was great is fantastic.”

The Prize, which aims to become Britain’s most prestigious literary prize representing the LGBT community, was set-up in 2010 to acknowledge and celebrate great writing from LGBT writers and the inaugural Prize was awarded to Christopher Fowler for his novel Paperboy. Previous winners of the Prize are: Catherine Hall (2011); join-winners Patrick Gayle and Andre Carl Van Der Merwe (2012); Andrew Soloman (2013); and Annaliese Mackintosh (2014). v Each year judges are appointed by the Chair of the Prize. The 2017 panel will be announced in December 2016.

For more information and any additional submission details please contact Maura Brickell on or 07915388571.

About savidgereads

A blog of a book lover and all the books he reads on his journey of bookaholicism!
This entry was posted in The Green Carnation Prize 2016 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s